International Prize

The aim of Fyssen Foundation is to “encourage all forms of scientific inquiry into cognitive mechanisms, including thought and reasoning, which underlie animal and human behaviour ; their biological and cultural bases, and phylogenetic and ontogenetic development”.

For this purpose, an INTERNATIONAL PRIZE . is awarded annually to a scientist who has conducted distinguished research in the areas supported by the Foundation such as ethology, paleontology, archaeology, anthropology, psychology, epistemology, logic and the neurosciences.

Recipients of previous awards are Professors André LEROI-GOURHAN (1980), William H. THORPE (1981), Vernon B. MOUNTCASTLE (1982), Harold C. CONKLIN (1983), Roger W. BROWN (1984), Pierre BUSER (1985), David PILBEAM (1986), David PREMACK (1987), Jean-Claude GARDIN (1988), Mrs. Patricia S. GOLDMAN-RAKIC (1989), Jack GOODY (1990) George A. MILLER (1991), Pasko RAKIC (1992), L. Luca CAVALLI-SFORZA (1993), Mrs. Lila R. GLEITMAN (1994), William D. HAMILTON (1995), Colin RENFREW (1996), Michel JOUVET (1997), Alan WALKER (1998), Brent BERLIN (1999), Joaquin FUSTER (2000), Peter MARLER (2001), Philip (2002), Michael I. POSNER (2003), Michael TOMASELLO (2004), Joseph LEDOUX (2005), Lewis BINFORD (2006), Randolf MENZEL (2007), Simha AROM (2008), Chris FRITH (2009) and Amotz ZAHAVI (2010).

Prize of 60 000 euros : THE EPIGENETICS OF COGNITION

Proposals for candidates should consist of :

  • letter of nomination
  • curriculum vitae
  • list of publications
  • summary (four pages maximum) of the research

Candidates cannot apply directly and should be proposed by recognized scientists.

The proposal should be submitted in 14 copies to “Secrétariat de la Fondation Fyssen, 194, rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris France”.

Closing date for reception of nomination : October 31, 2011 at the latest